John Kowalski and Rian Trench, the super-duo behind the name Solar Bears, are due to release a new album, ‘Advancement’ on the 18th of March.

Straight out of Dublin and Wicklow, Solar Bears have been on the scene since 2009, making music for seven years now. John and Rian met at the sound engineering college and became true friends who shared the same vision and interests. Their sound uses a mixture of acoustic instruments, natural elements, synths, programming and vintage tapes. Tracks often vary in sound as they are put together with a different range of sources, essentially creating a unique experience with every release.

Solar Bears’ highly anticipated third LP ‘Advancement’, is a follow up after their two previous successful releases on Planet Mu Recordings. It featured tracks that were full of varied emotions created with the use of film soundtracks, psychedelia and samples of historical library music.

This latest release brings Solar Bears over to Sunday Best Records giving them opportunity to work alongside the filmmaker, Michael Robinson. Together they will put together a series of videos for the album. Overall, it has taken them over a year to put the album together, as they travelled around the world and recorded sounds in multiple locations. Samples wildlife, volcanoes and native instruments are the main features of the album and the results are powerful, showcasing the ‘widespread decay’ of the natural world. Essential inspiration behind the album is the life cycle with the way planet is being destroyed and restored, naturally.

You can listen to the trailer for the upcoming album below:

Solar Bears 'Advancement' Album Trailer from Sunday Best on Vimeo.


01. Everything Set Right
02. Man Plus
03. Age : Atomic
04. Vanishing Downstream
05. Scale
06. Persona
07. Wild Flowers
08. Gravity Calling
09. Everything Set Ablaze
10. Longer Life
11. Separate From The Arc